What is expected for my career move

Yu-Ming, CHANG (he/him)
2 min readDec 11, 2021

--

This article is written to demonstrate my commitment to changing career path in 2022, from supply chain manager to software developer.

What does my ideal life look like?

I am still very new to the concept of career path. After 4 years of working, I discovered that, other than monetary, there are some things essential to me that I wasn’t aware of.

Work-wise

  1. I own flexibility to adjust work schedule to fit personal agenda
  2. I am in an environment with trust and support
  3. There are new things coming up to refresh my knowledge base
  4. I am the go-to person for certain technologies, skills, or professions
  5. I am in a position to choose, instead of being selected

Life-wise

  1. There is enough quality time for me and my spouse to be together
  2. There is enough “me” time to explore life experience
  3. I could workout regularly and keep my body fit and sexy
  4. I could spend time coaching younger generation

What are the possible choices?

Thanks to my former employer giving me a taste of remote work. I am now marching toward a life with similar style. Possible choices on the list are:

  • Knowledge Manager
  • Software Developer
  • Coach

I decide to change my career in 2022 from supply chain to software developer

Why I choose software developer

  1. There is growing market demand
  2. The skills are transferable in different industry and corporations
  3. Engineer makes things come true, and I love that feeling

Life is not really only one choice. I would like to accomplish them at different stage of my life

It is a conclusion I get when typing this article. I enjoy acquiring knowledge, and sharing that knowledge with simple sentence. I could make it a business, with a planned portion as a gesture to give back to the community, maybe to my mother school, or some other places globally.

This will require a strategy to gradually pick up all the skills. I will jot down my thoughts on a future series.

--

--

Yu-Ming, CHANG (he/him)

I enjoy the positive mind flow when writing code to solve a problem. This is my journey to become a software developer, though now working as a product owner